Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Review: Hard As Stone


Hard As Stone
Hard As Stone by Rory Ni Coileain

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Tiernan Guaire is a Fae in exile. Forced from the Realm into the human world for the unimaginable crime of a brother’s murder, he lives by a century-old vow, to trust no one, and never to allow himself to love or be loved.

Kevin Almstead has just lost his future, to a vote of the partners at his law firm. Trying to escape for an evening, he ventures into Purgatory, the hottest all-male nightclub in Washington, D.C., where he allows himself to be seduced by a stranger with long blond hair and ice-blue eyes.

Review: Lunacy and the Vampire


Lunacy and the Vampire
Lunacy and the Vampire by Evie Jayne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Every myth you ever heard is true. Every monster exists.

Luna Sea Rakshasa inhabits The Dominion, a realm of immortals hidden within the world of humans. She is a Beanne Sidhe huntress, a killer of dark and dangerous things, but she harbors a secret that has been tearing her apart for nearly a thousand years. On the cusp of finally facing the demon vampire who sired her, the last thing she needs is an obsessed vampire who stirs things she would rather not feel.

Aveon Ap Conwy was human before he was found, dying on a battlefield, and turned into a vampire. For a century he has been tormented by the personal war to keep his humanity. Nothing has been stronger until the night he meets Luna. She arouses his deepest hungers, but Aveon knows he must resist his urge to take her...because if he tastes on drop of her blood, they will both be lost.

Thrown together in an unwelcome alliance and fighting the heat that simmers between them, they travel to the mythical domain of Luna's demon sire. As their worlds merge Luna and Aveon become bound by something stronger than lust. Can Luna lay aside centuries of prejudice and open her heart to the only man who can stand beside her in the battle with the vampire king.

This story started out with a bang and just kept right on going. Luna Sea is my kind of heroine. She is hard core, never back down and she is focused on her mission. I am going to try not to give away too much of this book…but I winced when Luna nailed him to the wall. Even when she was already fighting her attraction to him, she literally nailed his ass to a wall. I cringed as the nails were driven in. Ms. Jayne is so descriptive that I felt like I was right there experiencing it with Aveon. But Luna is a woman driven and she is determined to stay true to her mission. I admire the conviction of this heroine. She never backed down, never compromised. Even as she fought the bad guys, she fought her attraction.

My heart ached for Luna. She was birthed by a monster and haunted by a past she had no control over. Then to realize she had feelings for one of the “monsters” she should be fighting. There was never a time in this book where I was sure of the outcome. It was a rollercoaster ride of emotions and heart stopping action. This book is insanely dramatic and brutally descriptive.

I. Loved. It.

I really hope that we get to see more books in this world with these characters. These are not your childhood fairies. There are gruesome, dark, evil fae. And the good fae are ass kicking, name taking soldiers for the cause. The vampires are not sweet and sparkly. They are vicious, brutal warriors. This book is not for the faint of heart. If you are looking for a romantic vampire/fairy story, move it along. If you want a gritty, down and dirty, action filled story of destiny and love that defies all odds, then THIS is the book you need to read.




View all my reviews

Review: The Locket


The Locket
The Locket by Clair de lune

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Who is trying to kidnap Lady Alicia Fitzroy and why?

When the de la Torre triplets, Rafael, Antonio, and Angel, rescued her from a kidnapping attempt, they do not expect to fall in love with her. She cannot understand why she loves three dominant men equally. Her handsome heroes have to foil several attempts to kidnap her before trapping the villain and discovering what he wants from her.

Friday, October 26, 2012

Howloween Blog Hop! PRIZES! And a RECIPE.



Yay! It's here! The Howloween Blog Hop! I had a blast participating in the July Blog Hop and decided to go for this one too.  I am not going to write a great long blog post. There are hundreds of participants and I am sure you want to get to visiting.  

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Guest Post: Author Ashlynne Laynne

Today Ashlynne Laynne gives us an in depth look at the hero of her Progeny series. Right now she is hard at work on book 3 in that series. I am so happy she was able to make time for us today. Comment below for your chance to win Blood Bonds.


Ascher Rousseau: Growing Into His Destiny

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Bloggers, help OMAR by @craigt1 hit bestseller status again.



Review: The Meeting




Trapped in a sexless marriage, Paul, an aspiring author, finds himself slipping into the alluring world of erotic prose. Flattering reviews from his number one fan lead to a virtual relationship of a different kind. Role play becomes real play. Then his secret is uncovered by his wife, Samantha. Caught in the ethereal glow of his monitor screen, he freezes like a rabbit caught in headlights. Sam freezes in denial. 

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Prophecy of the Most Beautiful

I have the opportunity to tell you guys about a new book. I am excited to check it out. It is about one of my favorite subjects: mythology. Check it out and don't forget to enter to win a copy!


Monday, October 22, 2012

Karen Erickson Virtual Book Tour


Today, please welcome my guest author, Karen Erickson. At the bottome of the post you will find some fabulous giveaways. One for COMMENTING ON THIS BLOG and one for the GRAND PRIZE!

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Review: Worth the Challenge

5 Stars

Together, they’re magic. Now to capture it in a bottle…

Worth It, Book 3

For once in his errant life, Rhett Worth is ready to prove to his older brothers he’s more than good looks and a woman-melting smile. Except he’s screwed up. And it’s about to hit the fan as he prepares to tell them he’s failed to deliver the master perfumer, Michel Durand, to create Worth Luxury’s signature scent.

Then salvation walks through the boardroom door, all wrapped up in a petite, seductive package.

Gabriella Durand is prepared to beg the Worths to give her capricious father another chance. Instead, she finds the devastatingly handsome Rhett Worth offering it to her as if he’d planned it all along. And Gabriella, hungry to emerge from her father’s shadow, jumps at it.

Soon they’re in Maui to hunt for the perfect scent…and find it in the tropical breeze that washes across their entwined bodies. Now the pressure is on to capture that passion in a bottle—before they let love complicate the delicate mix. Before a whiff of betrayal threatens to destroy everything


I feel like I waited forever for this book. Rhett caught my attention in book one of the Worth It series.  I wondered how he could possibly be redeemed. I posed that very question in my review of Worth the Scandal. My response, from the FABULOUS Ms. Erickson herself, was: “I'm writing Rhett's now - your wanting to know how I'll redeem him made me think, "I hope I don't let her down!" Eeek! Writers are neurotic folks.”  

Yeah, I am a bit of a fan girl, I admit it!

Oh those Worth men! They are all so hot, charismatic, and alpha. I do get in a twist over them. This book lived up to my every expectation.  I really just wanted to bitch slap Hunter several times.  I get his “once bitten, twice shy” mentality but sometimes he carried it a little too far. Or maybe that’s just my soft spot for Rhett talking. If I wasn't already in love with him before I started this book, I definitely would have been by the end. The maturity of his character was clear; especially if you have been with this series from book one. 

I was so excited to meet Gabriella, who comes complete with her own set of problems. I said it before and I will say it again, Ms. Erickson sure knows her way around stories with troubling family dynamics. The angst and drama are a pleasure to read. I really wanted to beat Gabriella’s father. Man I sound violent. But I love it. I LOVE books that make me feel strong emotions and be able to relate to the characters.

All this and we got to catch up with all our favorite characters from the first two books. Not to mention there was a very cleverly tantalizing end to the book, introducing us to…PSYCH! I am not giving it away if you haven’t read the book yet. And if you haven’t, what are you waiting for? Rhett’s story is a steamy, hot, love story that made me long for the tropical breezes of Hawaii and a whiff of that perfume. I felt like I was there on the beach and that is why I love Ms. Erickson’s stories so much. She has a knack for writing, that makes you feel like you are right there. I can’t wait to read the next installment in the Worth It series. Here is a sneak peak at the cover for book four:





Saturday, October 20, 2012

Editing

Woohoo!!! Check out this beautiful cover of a book I am currently co-editing.


Review: Worth the Risk

Worth It Book 2: Originally posted on Fallen Angel Reviews





Hunter Worth is the middle brother in the Worth family.  Head of marketing for Worth Luxury Goods, when he is not focused on business it is all about pleasure. He sets his sights on a member of the marketing team. Gracie Hayes is fighting her attraction to Hunter and it’s a losing battle. She is an independent woman who relies on no one but is finding it hard to resist Hunter. When Hunter realizes she is the one for him will he be able to convince Gracie?

Friday, October 19, 2012

Review: Strictly Forbidden


Strictly Forbidden
Strictly Forbidden by Shelley Bradley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Miss Kira Melbourne is anything but a proper English rose. Her exotic beauty, courtesy of her foreign mother, has marked her as an outsider, and her ghastly reputation as a woman of loose virtue has only added to that status. The victim of a devious viscount's horrible lies, Kira has the chance to redeem herself and become a member of polite society as the fiancée of a respected country clergyman. She'll finally have a place to belong...even if it's in the tepid arms of a man she doesn't love.

Gavin Daggett, Duke of Cropthorne, isn't about to let his naive country cousin marry a scandalous woman like Kira Melbourne. The solution is a simple one: Gavin will seduce the vixen and prove her unworthiness, thereby releasing his cousin from any obligation. But spending time with Kira is like awakening to a world of color and beauty, and it stirs the fiery desires Gavin has fought to suppress his entire life. Caught in his own dangerous game, sharing forbidden pleasure with Kira, Gavin knows that the price of loving her is high—and yet it is one that he will willingly pay...with every beat of his heart.

I love getting back to my reading roots. When I was a mere child of 11, Zebra Historicals were my poison of choice. I think I burnt out on them because it’s only recently that I have gotten back to enjoying a good historical romance. When I picked up this book, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I am a Shelley Bradley virgin. *teehee* But seriously, I am a huge Shayla Black fan so I figured it was time to enjoy her historical writing counterpart. Enjoy it, I did!

I felt so bad for Kira. Circumstances and conventions of the time made her life hell. She tries to stay strong, but the glimpses of her heartbreak were all the more poignant for it. I can’t even imagine what it would have been like for her back then. Not only is she vilified for something she didn’t do, but the fact that her mother is Persian was unacceptable for the times. Simple proof that bigotry and racism are alive and well in all times throughout history. When you add in the burden of class and ranking of the time, poor Kira never had a chance.

I really wanted to just beat Gavin, so many times. I thought he was a horrible snob of the worst sort for a good portion of the book. His issue with her foreign ancestry really cranked me. How could I love him as a hero when he couldn’t look past the color of her skin. I had to keep reminding myself it was a fact of the times and his upbringing. However, he has his own past burdens to bear. A scandalous childhood has formed him into the coldhearted man we see in this book. He is a proud man with the conviction that he must save his family from scandal. One other character I want to mention is Darius, Kira’s brother. I fell a little in love with him. The way he protects his sister at all costs is amazing.

This brings me around to what I loved about this book; the themes of family and what we will do to protect them. There are so many fabulous moments that illustrate this. Most of all, this book did a great job of making me feel. For me there is nothing better. When I can experience rage, heartbreak, jealousy, love, and even a few moments of gut wrenching danger, all in one book? That’s a win as far as I am concerned. Despite the fact that I wanted to hurt Gavin, I also wanted to hug Kira and flirt with Darius all while beating down a few of the judgmental bitches that call themselves Lady’s.

I think I will have to go back and find the book before this that tells the story of Gavin’s cousin, Strictly Seduction. It looks just as interesting!




View all my reviews

Review: Worth the Scandal

Originally posted here 3-21-12

5 stars

"Strictly business? Try telling that to her heart..."

"Worth It, Book 1"

Alexander Worth, President and CEO of Worth Luxury Goods, is a man never to be crossed. His unwavering sense of responsibility to the family business requires him to always be in complete and utter control. Until it comes to Tessa Crawford.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

New E-Book Publisher: Check it out!

Just a quick post to let you know about a new E-Book publishing house that will be launching on October 24.  Check out the links and videos below to learn more.

Review: Master Eric's Virgin Sub


Master Eric's Virgin Sub
Master Eric's Virgin Sub by Clair de lune

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Master Eric, the Dom behind the bar at Prometheus in Chains, a BDSM club, meets Emma, a beautiful blonde virgin waiting for her hero, at a Collaring Ceremony. Curious about the club, she returns for an exploratory visit.

She is happy with her new job until someone steals her identity, sending abusive emails in her name and spending large amounts on her credit card. Why is it happening to Emma?

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Review: Their Virgin Concubine


Their Virgin Concubine
Their Virgin Concubine by Shayla Black

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



The country of Bezakistan – renowned for its wealth and the beauty of its deserts

Piper Glen is thrilled when Rafe and Kade al Mussad ask her to visit their country on a business trip. Madly attracted to both, the virginal secretary knows that neither of her intensely handsome bosses desires her. But every night she dreams of having them both in her bed, fulfilling her every need.

Rafe and Kade have finally found the perfect woman in Piper. Sweet and funny. Intelligent and strong. Before they can reveal their feelings, the brothers must fulfill an ancient tradition. Every sheikh must steal his bride and share her with his brothers. They have thirty days to convince Piper to love them all forever.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Review: When Hubby's Away, the Ladies Play


When Hubby's Away, the Ladies Play
When Hubby's Away, the Ladies Play by Sonia Hightower

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



Natalie is looking at six really lonely months when she kisses her husband goodbye before he heads to the Middle East on a deployment. So when he suggests she seek comfort in the arms her sexy girlfriend, Mariah, and Mariah appears to be open to the idea herself, she does.

A night of passion and peaches and cream body oil turns into a very close relationship, but when Natalie tells Chase in a letter what is going on, she discovers he was joking, and he is now afraid of losing her.

How can she convince her husband that she can, will, and does love them both and will part with neither?

Monday, October 15, 2012

Review: Evernight: Romance in a World of Darkness VOL 2


Evernight: Romance in a World of Darkness VOL 2
Evernight: Romance in a World of Darkness VOL 2 by Allison Cassatta

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



I am really enjoying the stories of the anthology Evernight: Volume II. There is one story in particular I really wanted to review though because I just loved it.

The story is Serpentine by: Rory Ni Coileain

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Review: High Scandal


High Scandal
High Scandal by D.C. Stone

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Tristan White begins to think his professional and loyal secretary, Isabelle, is up to something. Her disappearing acts around the office leads him to think she could even be acting as a spy for competitors.

Isabelle has a secret, one she has kept in the closet—literally—for years.

Tristan’s suspicions catch up with him and after following Isabelle, he not only uncovers what secret she’s been hiding, but also begins to see his secretary in a new light.

Can Isabelle break out of the box and see herself as Tristan does? Or will their professional relationship cause lines to be drawn?

Be Warned: light BDSM

Review: Wicked Release


Wicked Release
Wicked Release by R.G. Alexander

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



When you’ve waited centuries for release…will three be the magic number?
Cursed for hundreds of years by a rejected suitor and an ultimate betrayal, Sarah Blackwood has had plenty of time to plan vengeance…and escape. When she sensed a magic that called out to her own, she instinctively drew it to her, desperately hoping it would be her way out.

She never expected what happened next.