Saturday, August 31, 2013

Friday, August 30, 2013

Review: Destined to Succeed



What would you do if what you worked your entire life to build was suddenly destroyed?

Cade Walker is a cowboy Casanova. He’s cocky and he doesn’t care who knows it. He was raised on Walker Ranch and was destined to one day take it over. What he didn’t know was how soon that would happen. After his parents are killed in a car accident he is thrust into becoming a responsible adult. Well, sort of. Cade is always responsible when it comes to business, but pleasure, now that’s a whole other story.

Suzanna Mallory is a red-headed spitfire, who also happens to be Cade’s best friend. She has loved Cade since they met when they were nine years old, but Cade just isn’t the type to get married and settle down. Suzanna finds herself in an abusive marriage and the only thing that keeps her sane is her daughter, Isabella, and working with Cade at Walker Ranch.

When a fire threatens to destroy the future of Walker Ranch, Cade and Suzanna have to work together to save it. 

What will this mean for her marriage or to the feelings that she has for Cade? 

And now that Cade thought he found love with Loralei Harper, only to realize she didn’t feel the same way, is he ready to settle down? 

Is Cade Walker Destined to Succeed?

Review: Left Drowning

What does it take to rise from life’s depths, swim against the current, and breathe?

Weighted down by the loss of her parents, Blythe McGuire struggles to keep her head above water as she trudges through her last year at Matthews College. Then a chance meeting sends Blythe crashing into something she doesn’t expect—an undeniable attraction to a dark-haired senior named Chris Shepherd, whose past may be even more complicated than her own. As their relationship deepens, Chris pulls Blythe out of the stupor she’s been in since the night a fire took half her family. She begins to heal, and even, haltingly, to love this guy who helps her find new paths to pleasure and self-discovery. But as Blythe moves into calmer waters, she realizes Chris is the one still strangled by his family’s traumatic history. As dark currents threaten to pull him under, Blythe may be the only person who can keep him from drowning.

This book is intended for mature audiences due to strong language and sexual content.

My review:
4 stars

It took me a bit to get into the book. I mean, who wants to read about a girl that does nothing but party? But quickly this book proved that it had more going for it than the typical angst. There is history here that shapes the entire book, but the author is careful not to let us in on it too soon. I had some theories as I was reading and I managed to figure most of it out before it was revealed. That's not to say that it was obvious, but I pride myself on trying to guess stuff :)

If you want to read a book about some serious drama and childhood trauma, then this is the book for you. There is plenty of both. My heart was literally hurting at times. The depths to which this book dragged me are incredible. I was absolutely sucked in and just couldn't seem to climb out of the book until I finished it. There is a lot of serious subject matter dealt with here. If you are looking for fluff and fun, do not look to this book. If you want to read a book about complex family relationships and how people survive horrible childhood tragedies and manage to come out the other side, then this is the book for you.

It's not all angst and suffering though. There are some wonderfully light and humorous moments. I really fell in love with all of the Shepard siblings, each for different reasons. The one that held a special place in my heart was Sabin. I really loved his relationship with Blythe. It was one of the bright points of this book. This book will be a high recommendation from me. I really think you all should go out and read it.

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Blog Tour & Dreamcast: Heartstrings


Synopsis:
Everyone thinks of me as this happy and upbeat person. What they don't know is that I carry a deep, dark secret. Something horrible happened to me a year ago, and I have kept it quiet all this time. I was fine for a while, but somehow it’s chosen this time to come back, and it's eating at me--like a cancer.

I need to tell someone about it, I just don't know how. I'm pushing everyone I love away, including my mom and my best friend Charlie.
Then there is Will. Handsome, sweet Will. We went out on a date a while back, but then the incident happened leaving me crushed and him confused.

How do you tell someone you care about all of your secrets, and will they still want you when the truth comes out?

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Review: Knowing the Score

Book one of the London Legends

Rugby player Spencer Bailey is determined to win a spot on England's World Cup team. But with a month break before the selectors start watching him, he's eager to have fun with a woman who knows the score: the relationship will end when rugby season begins. The lovely American Caitlyn Sweeney seems perfect for the role of temporary lover, since her visa will run out soon anyway.

Caitlyn works for an international disaster relief organization and can handle the world's worst crises, but she flinches from her own. Her past has left her with a fear of intimacy so deep that she has trouble getting close to anyone—until she meets sexy Spencer. His hot body and easygoing nature are too much for even her to resist.

Neither Caitlyn nor Spencer expects to fall hard for each other. But with their relationship deadline approaching, the old rules of the game seem less important than before…until past secrets surface, challenging everything they thought they knew about each other.

86,000 words


Review:
3.5 Stars

This book was a fun treat to read. I am new to the Rugby scene so I was excited to read this book. It's a great romance story that kept my attention from the start and I had to keep reading to see how it ended. I laughed, I cried and wanted to pound a certain character in the head a few times also!

I instantly fell in love with Spencer! He is a hot handful and needs just the right girl to tame him. The way he meets  Caitlyn is tragic but it all turns out for the good. Their story is anything but boring, with history lessons, a sweet old man and the dreaded V-thing. Man the tension in this book was ripe. The way the sexual tension mounted in the book was not that annoying kind, but done just right! I found myself rooting for Spencer. He really is a sweetie!

This is also the first in a new series and we got a nice look at some possible future characters. I can't wait to see where the story goes from here. This was my first book by this author but certainly not the last. I can't wait to read the next in the London Legends series.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Review: HIS

Strength. Power. Experience.

No obstacle is too great when an alpha male decides what he wants, and these dominating men are so sexy and irresistible, no woman would dare think of anything but submission. Billionaires, Doms, and mobsters alike aggressively go after the women they want, and they will stop at nothing to fully possess them and make them beg for more. 


Come and find out how good it feels to be HIS

Covet Release Day!


Covets have all the sexiness, emotion, and happily ever after that readers have come to expect and love from Entangled. They are firmly grounded in the contemporary world, but each novel brings in supernatural twists, breaking the contemporary and paranormal rules, alike. To find out more about their titles, chat with authors, participate in special events, and to find out what books you’ll be coveting next, visit the Entangled website, follow them on Twitter, and LIKE their Facebook page.

Today I'm happy to be featuring Covet's August releases!!

Entangled Teen Release Party!


Welcome to the Entangled Teen August 27 release party! Today, we're celebrating the release of The Liberator by Victoria Scott, Relic by Renee Collins, Everlast by Andria Buchanan, Ward Against Darkness by Melanie Card, and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Monday, August 26, 2013

Para-Palooza is here! PRIZES GALORE!

Click the picture to be taken to the greatest Palooza ever! So many awesome prizes and lots of info on books. What are you waiting for? You know you want to click it!

Entangled Teen Ember LAUNCH Party



Welcome to the Entangled Teen ember, a division of Entangled Teen August 26th launch party! Today, we're celebrating the release of DARKER DAYS  by Jus Accardo CHAOS by Christine O’Neil!

Friday, August 23, 2013

Review: Once Upon a Darkness

Gretchen and her twin brother, Hank, were abandoned to a zombie horde when they were five years old. Intended to be a sacrifice by their zealot parents, they were instead rescued by The Company. Raised to become soldiers in the war against zombies, they now provide safe passage through danger zones, one contract at a time.

Clint's only skill is war, but he's weary of killing other men. When his contract with the Marines runs out, he takes a job on Gretchen's team, hoping that the search-and-rescue life will suit him better.

On Clint's second day, their four-man team is attacked, drugged, and taken to a prison full of frightened civilians. The only way in or out is by helicopter and, here, their enemies are human. One by one, the captives are culled from the holding area. Rumors say the facility director uses the prisoners as experimental subjects for the testing of a zombie cure.

When Hank is taken, Clint and Gretchen must put aside their personal feelings and find a way out of the prison, surrounded by thousands of starving zombies, before Hank becomes just one more disposable guinea pig in the hands of a twisted mad woman.

Review:
4Stars

I really enjoyed this book. I was not so sure about it to begin with. See, I freaking hate zombies. I don’t know why. But they freak me the heck out! But the author assured me that, first and foremost this is a romance. So I cautiously opened the book and read. *pleasenonightmares*

I am glad I took a chance. This book is a romance! It happens to be set against a backdrop that involves zombies, but they aren’t the main focus. This book was interesting to read. I was hooked from the minute I started it and read straight through. It has action and adventure that kept my interest the whole time. I really just fell into the story and felt like I was right there.


Despite the zombie aspect, I am very interested in this world. I would love to know what happened to make so many zombies. (It is mentioned briefly but I want to know more.) I would also love to know more about the Apocalysts. I would also like to see Hank get his HEA. Overall, this was a very enjoyable read and I would recommend it. It’s got romance, action, evil scientists, crazy parents and *shudders* zombies. So why wouldn’t you want to read it?

Review: Burn With Me

Aziza Jane Stewart is living on borrowed time, and making a few mistakes in London seems like a good way to go out with a bang. But when two compelling strangers draw her into an ancient conflict, she realizes her curse isn’t about death at all…it’s about the power within her.

The sexy giant following her says he can smell trouble on her skin, the smokeless fire and magic of the demons he was born and bred to hunt. Brandon may be an enforcer, but his reaction to her is anything but adversarial. Ram, her new Jinn shadow, will do whatever it takes to come between them, and he’s just as hard for Aziza to resist.

When her dark family legacy burns to the surface, whom can Aziza trust? The alpha male who pushes all her hot buttons, the Jinn who seduces her in dreams, or the emerging Fireborne within? As danger circles closer, she must learn to embrace her newfound powers—and trust someone with her heart—before she becomes the final casualty.

Warning: Explicit content, magic, danger, voyeurism, chains, a secret ménage and carnal deeds of devilish debauchery at every other turn. Basically…fasten your seatbelts and get ready to burn.

Cover Reveal: Love and Other Games

Love and Other Games is a collection of four sexy new adult stories centered around athletes competing in the Winter Games by Ana Blaze, Melinda Dozier, Aria Kane, and Kara Leigh Miller. It releases October 1st from Swoon Romance in all major electronic formats.



Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Review: Friday Night Alibi

With her fresh, charming, and hilarious take on New Adult romance, Cassie Mae introduces readers to a soon-to-be college freshman who’s cashing in on her sweet reputation—and the unlikely guy who turns her life upside-down.

In the wealthy town of Sundale, Kelli Pinkins has hatched the perfect plan to capitalize on her sweet reputation. For a generous fee, she will be every trust-fund baby’s dream: a Friday-night alibi, the “girlfriend” or “BFF” that parents dream about. With college approaching in the fall, Kelli’s services are in demand more than ever, which means that her social life is nonexistent. But Kelli is A-okay with that. She’s raking in cash for school. Besides, relationships are tricky, and sometimes very messy. She’d rather be at home on Xbox LIVE, anyway. Then the unexpected happens: She meets college stud Chase Maroney.

Chase isn’t like the preppy, privileged guys Kelli usually meets in Sundale. For starters, he’s twenty something, always wears black, and he shoots back one-liners as fast as she can dish them out. But Kelli’s attempts to drive Chase away falter when she realizes that he treats her like he really knows her, like he cares about knowing her. When Kelli finally gives in to the delicious kiss she’s been fighting for so long, she faces a tough decision: make Chase a real-life boyfriend and risk her heart . . . or keep her clients and lose her first true love.


Stained: Excerpt

Today, please enjoy an excerpt from a book I am dying to read.


Review: Shooting Scars

Sometimes the right choice can be the deadliest.

When Ellie Watt made the ultimate sacrifice for Camden McQueen, she never thought it would be easy. But walking away with her ex-lover, Javier Bernal, in order to ensure Camden's safety has brought a whole new set of dangers. With Javier's plans for Ellie growing more secretive by the moment, Ellie must find a way to stay ahead of the game before her past swallows her whole.

Meanwhile, Camden's new life is short-lived. Fueled by revenge and pursued by authorities, he teams up with an unlikely partner in order to save Ellie. But as Camden toes the line between love and retribution, he realizes that in order to get back the woman he loves, he may have to lose himself in the process. He might just turn into the very man he's hunting.

Approx. 100,000 words.

Monday, August 19, 2013

Review: Continuance

When seven-year-old Ethan du Maurier, only son and heir of New York City real estate tycoon, Alexander du Maurier, disappears during school recess, the FBI quickly determines that his disappearance was an abduction. Within hours of a special news bulletin airing nationwide, the FBI’s hotline is inundated with anonymous tips relating to sightings of a little boy matching Ethan’s description outside a historic Savannah building, now a newly-renovated eatery. The FBI quickly assembles a task force and searches the premises but instead of finding little Ethan, they stumble upon the century-old remains of what appears to be a murdered man hidden in a pirate’s tunnel under the historic building.
With her restaurant on temporary lockdown pending the FBI’s forensic investigation, owner Annie Eastwood researches the history of the building she inherited, hoping it will shed some light on the identity of the murdered man, but what she uncovers are bits and pieces of a horrible scandal that nearly destroyed the du Maurier family over a century ago. With hopes for Ethan’s safe return dwindling by the hour, Annie finds an unlikely lead in an old classified ad from a Boston newspaper which connects the events of the past to the present-day abduction of Ethan du Maurier—and to the identity of his abductor. Determined to rescue little Ethan before time runs out, Annie quickly realizes that the boy’s abductor will stop at nothing—even murder—in order to exact his revenge.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Review: Vaughn

A con man. A rancher’s daughter. A wildfire out of control.

Elizabeth Graham spends her days running the business side of the Circle Eight ranch. Her knack for numbers and organization lent themselves to her position in the family. She has just turned twenty-one and doubts she will find a man to spend her life with. Elizabeth doesn’t believe in love, after all, and when she meets a charlatan named Vaughn Montgomery, her opinion doesn’t waver. At first.

Vaughn Montgomery is down to the lint in his pocket and the handsome smile he uses as a weapon. His last con went wrong and he fled west. Now he finds himself trapped in the middle of nowhere Texas. And at the mercy of a hard-nosed woman who wears shapeless dresses and whose tongue can cut blocks of wood.

Unwilling to bend and unable to forgive, Elizabeth and Vaughn get caught up in a web of lies that stretches from Houston to the heart of Texas. She finds herself falling for the man who can’t seem to tell the truth and he can’t get enough of a woman who can only speak truths. Surrounded by danger, they embark on the ultimate con to save the Circle Eight and their lives.
~~~~~ 

Cover Reveal and Excerpt: Going Long




Going Long Synopsis and Teaser

Can first loves really be forever?


Nolan Lennox was strong, a survivor. She stood up to those who tore her
down and found her purpose in life when she was at her lowest, her heart
broken. And she was rewarded with the fairytale ending she'd always
dreamed of. She spent four years loving Reed Johnson, the popular
quarterback at her small town high school, earning his friendship first
and, eventually, his heart. But fairytales are fiction, and
life? Well, real life is messy. Can Reed and Nolan's love
survive the growing pains that come along with truly growing
up?

Reed and Nolan's story continues in Going Long,
the sequel to Waiting on the Sidelines. It will will be available
for download on Amazon, Kobo, iBooks, Sony and Barnes & Noble in
October 2013.

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Review: Waiting on the Sidelines

Nolan Lennox had things figured out. Named after a baseball legend, she enjoyed being the Tomboy, her closet filled with her brother’s hand-me-downs, cut-off jeans and soccer shorts. But when her first trip to high school results in a broken heart from the first boy to ever make her heart flutter and cruel words from an older girl she once thought a family friend, Nolan starts to question the very person she thought she was and wonders if her humble upbringing can compete with the afforded luxuries of her privileged peers.

Throughout the next four years, Nolan struggles to maintain herself throughout her path of discovery, learning just how cruel teenagers can be through the pressures of underage drinking, sexuality and class. And despite how life seems to continue to work against her, she still manages to listen to her heart, falling deeper and deeper for the guy the entire town adores, even if he only sees her as a friend. Can Nolan strike a compromise between her own integrity and the boy she loves? And can she make him notice her before it’s too late?

Reed Johnson came to Coolidge High School with a lot of fanfare. The son of a hometown football legend and the brother of a local football hero, Reed wore all the pressures of carrying a town without hope into the spotlight. Thankfully, he had the talent to back it up. But when he meets a girl who makes him think twice about exactly what being a hero means, he starts to wonder if following in his brother’s footsteps might be all wrong. 

Nolan Lennox was everything that was opposite of expected. She didn’t flirt, she didn’t drink and she didn’t sleep around. Nothing about her was easy, but something about her made Reed want to try harder. Though she didn’t look the part, she seemed to be spending a lot of time in Reed’s thoughts, and he wondered if she could be the one who made it all worthwhile. But could Reed handle letting her down? And would breaking her heart break him beyond repair?

Waiting on the Sidelines explores young love to its fullest, exposing how real young heartbreak and passion is and how important it is to discover yourself and hold onto your own identity. The story follows two young characters as they deal with mature situations, including the prevalence of bullying and promiscuity in today’s high school setting. Ultimately, Waiting on the Sidelines is a story of hope, honesty and those powerful, first true loves—the ones worth holding onto at any cost.

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Review: Deeper

Rain Wilson isn’t ever going to love again. 

It’s a promise she made the day her boyfriend died in a water park accident, one she still blames herself for. Now she’s a senior lifeguard in a new town with a new pool and she’s just going to keep her head down and everyone safe.

Until a mysterious guy follows her into the waves at the pre-season bonfire and kisses her senseless. It’s just one mistake, and Rain is determined to put it behind her, until the dark haired, blue eyed hottie turns out to be her new co-supervisor Knight Mcallister.

Knight is hot, tatted, and carrying baggage of his own. He’s not happy about having Rain for a co-supervisor, and he’s even less happy about his attraction to her.

But between lifeguard drama, hot underwater kisses, and a growing attraction between them that can’t be stopped, Knight and Rain are being pulled deeper into their pasts, and realizing that sometimes too much broken can make a relationship impossible.

Then again sometimes it’s the broken parts of us that fit together best.

Entangled Teen Launch Party

Welcome to the Entangled Teen August 6 launch party! Today, we're celebrating the release of Out of Play by Nyrae Dawn and Jolene Perry, A Tale of Two Centuries by Rachel Harris, and Hover by Melissa West (coming August 13th).


Out of Play by Nyrae Dawn and Jolene Perry

Kiss Me In Paris Blog Tour and Review

Kiss Me In Paris
Authors: Kimberly Kinrade and Dmytry Karpov
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Full length novel: 87, 000 words
Tour dates: July 29 - August 11, 2013

Kiss Me in Paris is a standalone novel in the Kiss Me Series. Travel the world with the Deveaux sisters as they find love, and trouble, in all the right places.

Monday, August 5, 2013

Book Blast: HIS Anthology by Evernight Publishing

Strength. Power. Experience...
Come and find out how good it feels to be HIS. 

HIS Anthology

Blurb:
No obstacle is too great when an alpha male decides what he wants, and these dominating men are so sexy and irresistible, no woman would dare think of anything but submission. Billionaires, Doms, and mobsters alike aggressively go after the women they want, and they will stop at nothing to fully possess them and make them beg for more.

Cover Reveal: Chaos

Today Christine O’Neil and Entangled Teen Ember are revealing the cover for book 1 in The Kardia Chronicles Series, CHAOS. 


Coming out this August!

On to the reveal!